How to remove an authorized user from your credit card – Forbes Advisor

Editorial Note: We earn a commission on partner links on Forbes Advisor. Commissions do not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.

Adding or removing an authorized user from a credit card account usually only requires a quick phone call or online connection, but it can be a good idea to notify authorized users before removing them from your account. ‘an account. Let’s see what an authorized user is and how to remove one from a credit card account.

What is an authorized user?

An authorized user is an additional cardholder on someone else’s credit card account. The primary account holder can call a credit card issuer to add someone as an authorized user. Some issuers allow this benefit for free while others may charge a fee for each authorized user, or it may even vary from card to card from the same issuer.

Authorized users get their own credit cards with their names on them. An authorized user can use the card like any other credit card to make purchases and build up credit. Most issuers report Authorized User activity to the credit bureaus, making it a good way for someone with little or no credit history to start building a healthy one. Those with bad credit can also boost their credit score by relying on someone else’s good credit. The issue here is that the primary account holder is also liable if an authorized user accrues debt and does not pay it off.

Find the best credit cards for 2022

No credit card is the best option for every family, every purchase or every budget. We have selected the best credit cards so as to be the most useful for the greatest number of readers.

Will adding an authorized user help increase credit?

Adding someone as an authorized user to a credit card account can be beneficial for friends or family in financial difficulty, but it’s usually not financially helpful for the primary cardholder. The account holder takes a risk with each authorized user they add to an account. The account holder risks a higher credit utilization rate and negative impact on credit rating when allowing others to benefit from their credit.

Since the primary cardholder is financially responsible for all fees and interest, it is important to discuss with the authorized user how a card can be used by setting a spending limit and payment schedule. Some issuers allow the primary cardholder to set a credit limit on the authorized user’s card, which can prevent unwanted spending.

On the other hand, having good credit from a family or friend can be extremely helpful for an Authorized User. For example, some parents add their teenagers to their accounts before they are of legal age to apply for their own credit cards. A teenager will not only have a personal credit card to use in an emergency, but can also begin to build a healthy credit history and learn how to spend responsibly before it’s time to open an individual account. .

When should an authorized user be deleted?

There may be several reasons why a primary cardholder would want to remove an authorized user from an account. If the friend or family member has reached the financial goal, they can be safely removed from the account once approved for a separate credit card.

But there can be unfortunate situations that cause the primary cardholder to remove someone from an account. Primary Cardholder credit is affected by Authorized User activity. If the Authorized User consistently spends over the limit or fails to pay the Account Holder for expenses on time each month, the Account Holder may wish to disconnect.

The Primary Cardholder’s Credit Utilization Rate may be adversely affected if an Authorized User spends over the Credit Limit and does not repay it. It can also lead to lower credit scores for both parties.

Regardless, it’s a good idea to notify an authorized user when you delete it. Notification is not required to complete a withdrawal, but it can help the primary cardholder avoid a contentious situation. The authorized user may not be notified once deleted – the map will simply stop working.

How to delete an authorized user

Removing an authorized user from a credit card account is quite simple. Some card issuers have an online portal that allows cardholders to add or remove authorized users at any time. A quick phone call to the sender is also effective. Give the sender the name of the authorized user and tell them that the person needs to be removed from the account.

If possible, notify the authorized user before deletion. This way, there are no surprises the next time he or she tries to use the credit card.

Can an authorized user remove themselves from someone else’s account?

An Authorized User may request to be removed from an Account by contacting an Issuer online or by telephone.

The authorized user will no longer have access to a line of credit if he does not have a separate credit card account. This means that when applying for a new card, a credit report may not show an existing line of credit. This can be a red flag for some transmitters.

If the Authorized User attempts to move on and become the primary account holder on another credit card, the application must be completed (and ideally accepted) for a new card before being removed from someone’s account. another.

Find the best credit cards for 2022

No credit card is the best option for every family, every purchase or every budget. We have selected the best credit cards so as to be the most useful for the greatest number of readers.

Conclusion

Many people can benefit financially from piggybacking on someone else’s good credit as an authorized user. People with poor credit can build a credit score and those with no credit history can start from scratch. But responsible spending is imperative for it to work. The primary cardholder takes a risk every time they add someone to an account. Be sure to discuss a spending and payment plan before moving forward. The Primary Cardholder may remove an Authorized User from an Account at any time and for any reason. Simply connect online or call the issuer.

Comments are closed.